I’m so confused (I stay confused at times)
I know I heard you loud and clear (I hear God speaking, and I know what I am supposed to do…)
So, I followed through (I pray, go to church, stay in His word, build my relationship with HIM)
Somehow I ended up here (so, why at times in my life have I ended up not knowing how I ended up where I was…)

I don’t wanna think, I may never understand, that my broken heart is a part of your plan (But then I remember your heart hurts when I hurt)
When I try to pray, all I’ve got is hurt and these four words
(sometimes four words is truly all we need to say, thank you for hearing what we cannot speak)

Thy will be done. Thy will be done! Thy will be done!!

I know you’re good, but this don’t feel good right now
(when I hurt, when I am at a loss for words, when nothing comforts, when I lost a child, when my child was diagnosed with disease, when I divorced, when my daughter ran away, when my family slammed doors…)
And I know you think, of things I could never think about
(you are all powerful, all knowing, and understand all…you give, you take away, you know what’s best for us and when it is best)

It’s hard to count it all joy
(I should rejoice in pain, in sorrow, when I am in the deepest despair)

Distracted by the noise, just trying to make sense, of all your promises
(you did not promise me life would be easy, you promised you’d be with me in the storms)

Sometimes I gotta stop, remember that you’re God, and I am not
(no, I am not God, I am not all powerful, all knowing, I can’t even tie my shoes without your strength giving me the power and knowledge to breath!)

So, Thy will be done, Thy will be done, Thy will be done
Like a child on my knees all that comes to me is
They Will be done…
I know you see me, I know you hear me, Lord
Your plans are for me, goodness you have in store

So I promised a blog about this song, and it is a very powerful song, one I keep singing over and over again, as I see those around me struggling, hurting, trying to find you in them midst of pain…it’s an acknowledgment to our Lord no matter what we want for us, HIS will is always better…always best…HIS will is the only will we need to think about.

This song makes me think about my soft-hearted, kind, loving son-in-law and the wounds he has felt from a very young age. Wounds from his parents, his friends, his siblings (I see your pain, I understand your pain, I will walk you through this storm my son) I pray God will give him the answers he needs, the answers his heart longs to hear, and I know God’s will and God’s time is the best…my prayers are heard. God’s will be done.

I think about my beautiful daughter and the wounds in her heart. Wounds I have caused and acknowledged and for which I have apologized. I think about the restoration and acknowledgment she wants and needs in her life, for her heart to be softened and I pray knowing what she wishes, but know that God’s will and timing is best. I know she sees and feels my apologies, my validation of her feelings at all times. I know my prayers are heard. God’s will be done.

I think about my friends who have struggled for years with infertility, who lost a pregnancy and now who are awaiting their first children. Their strength, their acknowledgement that God’s will is what they long for, and they will raise their children knowing who gave them these precious gifts. God heard their prayers. His will be done.

I think about my beautiful friend and the singer in David and my wedding – who is currently at the hospital with her very ill husband. My wishes, as I am sure all our wishes, are for him to recover and wake up and say “thanks Becca for taking care of me” and go back to sleep and we will know God is healing him…of course, deep down, I know God is healing him, but will that healing be so he is on this earth for another 20-30 years, or will God call him home to live with him? I know my prayers are heard. **

I think about my own wishes for my own life. I think about my marriage, my children, my future grandchildren, my friends, my beautiful family in Christ and I know my wishes are heard, but it is certainly God’s will that will prevail over all.

I think about the wounds of my own life and how He has restored them in His way, not the way, I originally wished for them to be, but His will was done, and His will was WAY better than anything I could have wished or prayed…His answer to some relationships is for me to remain silent and continue to watch the actions and words of others. Those who believe they have never done wrong, those who stand in judgment of me, of my child, my husband, and I will remain in His will – staying silent.

I think about the future and what His will is…I know what doors He has closed and told me to rest easy, He would take care of opening those doors in His time, I can rest, and know I’ve done my part.

I think about my sisters in Christ Jesus and why He brought them to my life and how His will has empowered me with friends, family and relationships in His name.

I find myself on my knees, wondering what His will is, praying for healing, restoration, and I find myself at a loss for words in times of sadness, sorrow…and I know all I need to know and say is “your will be done Lord” and my prayer is answered.

I hope when others look into my life and hear my story, and learn what areas of my life I asked for God for His will to be done, and sat and waited for His will and what God did in my life, well, I hope it helps. I hope they see the mistakes, the faith, the waiting, the hope and know God’s will is for us to be happy, and He has not left us when we make a mistake, when we are wounded, He carries us, He feels our pain, I understand now my mistakes, my hurt, my wounds, my sorrow, were a way to bring me closer to God, to be vulnerable and give HIM my life, not my parents, my ex’s, not my child. But God. He had my life from the very moment He knit me together. Now I understand, His promises, I understand I have to stop and remember HE is GOD…I need to remember HE is in control. I need to remember HIS WILL will always be done, and the sooner we succumb, the sooner we give ourself to HIM we will experience a joy, a goodness, only HE has in store for us…it’s always, always, always better God’s way. He will give you what you need at just the right time. I can definitely attest to this goodness.

Are you ready to to give your life to Him?
Are you ready for His will to be done in your heart?
Are you like a child on your knees?
Are you ready for the joy and goodness He has for your life?
Do you understand His plans are always for YOU?

I encourage you, no matter what your life is like right now, no matter your walk with others or with Christ, no matter the mistakes, the hurt, the sorrow, the joys…get on your knees, and just say the four words…Thy Will Be Done. Say them over and over again, share your story of faith and hope…His will be done…

Romans 8:1-5

**As of the this posting, my friend’s husband passed away. One more son has gone to sleep, to rest in the Father’s arms, until we all meet in heaven to rejoice.

