Who doesn’t love the holidays?  The cleaning, cooking, baking, shopping, gift exchanging, gift returning, too fun!  I remember as a child opening presents on Christmas morning and then going to the grandma houses to open more.  Who didn’t like opening the many gifts both Santa and the family gave you?  I can still remember the smells and laughter of the holidays too.  My grandma Summers always made Waldorf salad for the holidays with grapes, and nuts and just the right mixture of mayo and who knows.  I wish I had the chance to get that recipe before she passed away.  My grandma Chamberlain’s house had enough food to feed an army, and the decorations and laughter were plenty…

When my daughter was a baby, I can remember creating traditions for her and buying special paper for Santa’s gifts and my gifts.  I remember having my neighbor ring our doorbell so we could get our special Santa jammies and head off to bed.  I loved watching her open her presents and being excited about them, and the older she gets I love watching her give me my presents always with a big smile on her face and exitement in her eyes.

Every year, now, I play Faith Hill’s “Where are you Christmas” over and over again.  Why?  Well, it seems to me that people are more interested in the money they have spent or the expensive gifts they have chosen and outdoing the Jones’s and I feel we have lost the true meaning of Christmas.  When Olivia started asking me if there was a Santa, I told her it was all what she believed.  Yes, I believe there is a true spirit of Christmas – which could be explained as Santa.  I once knew a person who always told me I had “never given anyone a gift they truly wanted.”  That being said, why should I buy an actual present?  This year for the holidays, I came up with several – what I thought were wonderful ideas for those I love the mostest – only to be “outone” or copied so my hard work, efforts and ideas were for naught. 

I look at my Charlie Brown Tree with the Nativity Scene all around it and see the little baby Jesus in his little cradle and sometimes I wonder if the “gift giving” centered around the three wise men?  Why did they bring a gift?  Why not show up and say “special baby” and move on.  Or, were the gifts they brought – which I know signify important things – a testament of what we are supposed to do?  Bring a gift which signifiies something important to the person we are giving it to.

I’m not sure what any of it means really.  I’m not totally sure how I feel about the exchanging of gifts just to be shot down or for someone to ask you for the receipt so they can take it back to the store, or just exchaning gift cards of random amounts…

I think about the Grinch, Frosty, Rudolf and my favorite “A Charlie Brown Christmas”  hold the anwers…maybe the Frosty with his hat, Rudolf with his nose, the Grinch with his heart and Charlie Brown with his tiny tree have the are haning me the biggest clues…Give a gift of something you love the most, light a way, give all things with your heart, and take tender care of something precious…

